It’s a Law: States Must Allow Same-Sex Marriage & Recognize Same-Sex Marriages from Other States

by Jun 29, 2016Necessary forms0 comments

In historic decision, the Supreme Court ruled by the narrowest margin on Friday, June 26th, 2015, that same-sex couples across the nation have an equal right to marry. The Court declared that two clauses in the Fourteenth Amendment mean that a “fundamental right to marry” can no longer be denied because the partners are of the same sex. You can read more about the decision in Obergefell v. Hodges case here.

The Court’s decision on Friday will open marriage legally in the fourteen states, where same-sex marriages were illegal. It nullified bans on same-sex marriage as well as bans on official recognition of such marriages performed outside a state. Both prohibitions, according to the Supreme Court, violate the Fourteenth Amendment’s guarantees of due process and equal protection.

Although the four of the states, including Ohio, will be added to the states where same-sex marriage will become available within a few weeks, it’s still unclear how they will apply the decision. Follow our blog as we will be posting updates on the same-sex marriage laws in Ohio.